The Dabigal Blog

Messi Misses Out As FIFA Reveals Nominees For Best Player Award


Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mo Salah have been shortlisted for the Fifa’s player of the year award.

The nominees were revealed by FIFA, football’s world governing body, on Monday (Sep 3), with Barcelona talisman Lionel Messi missing from the list.

Ronaldo was the competition’s top scorer in lifting a fourth Champions League title in five years before sealing a shock £89 switch to Juventus in the summer.

Modric was also part of that Real Madrid side that has dominated the Champions League in recent years and won the Golden Ball for the best player at the World Cup for leading Croatia to the final.

The 32-year-old midfielder was also named UEFA’s Player of the Season ahead of Ronaldo and Salah at a ceremony in Monaco on Aug 30.

Salah scored 44 goals in an incredible debut season for Liverpool before being robbed of his chance to make an impression in the Champions League final by an early injury.

The 26-year-old Egyptian is the reigning African Player of the Year and has picked up where he left off last season with two goals as Liverpool make a charge for their first Premier League title in 28 years.

Related posts

Content creator, Ashmusy buys a Range Rover.

Hope Odabi

“Bobrisky Be Careful, You Are On Instagram Blacklist – Kemi Olunloyo Warns Bobrisky

Hope Odabi

“Nigerians are not banned from Dubai”

Hope Odabi

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More